Two Burke Doctors Chosen as Doctors of Distinction

Published October 25, 2013

In the first award of its kind recognizing members of the medical profession in Westchester County, Burke Rehabilitation Hospital's Argyrios Stampas, M.D., director of the Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation program, and Burke Medical Research Institute's Jason Carmel, M.D., Ph.D., director of the Motor Recovery Laboratory and Early Brain Injury Recovery Program, were honored with Doctors of Distinction awards by the Westchester Business Journal at a ceremony held on Oct. 24 at The Bristal in White Plains.

After considering more than 40 stellar nominees, the judges chose Dr. Carmel and Dr. Stampas, along with five other doctors as winners.

Dr. Stampas and Robert Raniolo, M.D., of Phelps Memorial Hospital Center, were awarded with the Community Service Award, in recognition of their outstanding service to their communities in providing patient care services for people in need – the underserved, homeless, uninsured or indigent.

Dr. Carmel received the Research Excellence Award for his clinical research that has caught the attention of his peers and deserves special acknowledgement.

Other Doctors of Distinction include Jeffrey Sherman, M.D., Westchester Anesthesiologists (Humanitarian Award); Robert Amler, M.D., New York Medical College (Medical Entrepreneur Award); Avraham Merav, M.D., Phelps Memorial Hospital Center (Lifetime Achievement Award); and Lawrence Faltz, M.D, Phelps Memorial Hospital Center (Leadership in Medical Advocacy Award).

Subscribe to Burke's Newsletter

Keep up with the latest news about Burke by signing up for our newsletter. 

Burke Rehab Hospital Fact Sheets

Latest Tweet