Educational Opportunities

Pioneering Rehabilitation

Summer Student Research Program

Summer Student Research Program

The Burke Medical Research Institute (BMRI) invites interested and qualified undergraduate students to apply to our Summer Student Research Program (SSRP).  The purpose of this program is to give undergraduate students interested in pursuing a career in biomedical sciences the opportunity to conduct cutting edge research.  Participants will be part of a laboratory research project related to neural repair and rehabilitation. Summer research students will have considerable direct interaction with their faculty mentors and the BMRI staff.

Program participants also attend both introductory and professional level research seminars. BMRI hosts a weekly seminar series given by international leaders in neurobiology and neurorehabilitation. The SSRP also holds a weekly summer seminar series given by BMRI faculty that is designed to engage students in discussions about specific topics in neurobiology and neurorehabilitation as well as career development in biomedical research.

The SSRP is a 10-week program that will run from June 1st through August 7th.  Participants need to be available between May 26th–May 30th for a mandatory health screening. Trainees will receive a stipend of $3,000 that begins July 1st.  Housing and transportation are not provided and are the responsibility of each trainee.

Students participating in the program are expected to meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Current enrollment in, and completion of at least one full academic year at, a U.S. college or university. 
  • Completion of an introductory biology course.
  • Although not required, preference will be given to students who have also completed one semester of bench laboratory classes or equivalent experience.
  • A cumlative 3.4 G.P.A. or better (unless special circumstances can be provided).
  • 2 letters of recommendation from faculty able to accurately judge the applicant’s abilities and motivations.
  • A transcript and resume in addition to the completed applicant form.

Application Process

A completed application and required documents must be submitted by the
application deadline April 8, 2016.

Students will be notified the week of April 18, 2016 of their acceptance in this program.

A completed online application includes the following required documents:

  • Undergraduate transcript (a student copy is acceptable)
  • Resume or C.V.
  • 2 Letters of recommendation (from faculty able to accurately judge the applicant’s abilities and motivations)


Identify specific research programs that match your interest. Select your top three choices for lab/faculty in which you are interested. Learn more about faculty >


Collect and gather the following documents in either a MS Word or PDF file format to upload to your application:

  • Undergraduate transcript (a student copy is acceptable)
  • Resume or C.V.


Select two faculty/professors that are able to accurately judge your abilities and motivations. Gather an email address for each faulty/professor.


Prepare your write statements by previewing the online application >


Complete the online application >

Students with incomplete applications will not be considered.

All interested applicants are welcome to contact the program coordinator with any questions regarding this process.

Contact Information:
Dianna Willis, Ph.D. 

2015 Summer Science Scholars

2015 Summer Science Scholars

Garren Angacian — John Hopkins University
Aaron Cherian — University of Maryland
Chris Costa — Fordham University
Sheryl Johnson — St. Bonaventure University
Julia Kelly — Cornell University
Max Levinson — Cornell University
Tanner Love — Williams College
Jessica Ochiogrosso — University of Rochester
Natcha Rummaneethorn — Manhattanville College
Kathleen Samuelson — Brown University
Joshua Santos — SUNY Purchase
Diana Shao — Fordham University

Read more about the class of 2015 >

2014 Summer Science Scholars

Alexandra Agins  — Fordham University
Jessica Berkowe  — SUNY Purchase
Jackie Bucci  — College of Charleston
Matthew Burrow  — Western Connecticut State University
Loren Eustaquio  — SUNY Purchase
Sarah Groover  — Rogers State University
William Halimou  — Oberlin University
Michael Mazzola — Cornell University
Briana Sabot  — University of Rhode Island